Already on Tuesday, there were signs that both sides had opposed the peace treaty. Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev said Russian and Turkish peacekeepers would be sent to Nagorno-Karabakh, which shocked many Armenians. Russia intervened quickly, stressing that Turkey was not an official partner in the peace agreement. According to local media, a large crowd gathered in the Armenian capital, Yerevan, to protest against the agreement. They broke into the Parliament and government buildings and shouted, “We will not give up.” The Nagorno-Karabakh ceasefire agreement in 2020 is a ceasefire agreement that ended the Nagorno-Karabakh war in 2020. Signed on 9 November by Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev, Prime Minister Nikol Pachinjan and Russian President Vladimir Putin, it ended all hostilities in the Nagorno-Karabakh region from 00:00, 10 November 2020 Moscow time. [1] [2] The President of the self-declared Artsakh Republic, Arayik Harutyunyan, also agreed to the end of hostilities. [3] Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev responded to the agreement by saying: “This declaration represents the capitulation of Armenia. This declaration ends years of occupation. [16] Major celebrations erupted throughout Azerbaijan, including in Baku, the capital, when news of the agreement was announced. [17] Under the agreement, Russia has deployed nearly 2,000 peacekeeping forces for at least five years to monitor the peace agreement and assist in the return of refugees. Russian troops will also provide safe transit between Nagorno-Karabakh and Armenia in the Lachin region.

“Going into a peacekeeping operation without a political process that could bring about a peace agreement actually means that you are there forever,” he said. “What was created today is a naturally unstable situation. This peacekeeping contingent will be vulnerable to provocation. Armenia, Azerbaijan and Russia have signed an agreement to end the military conflict over the controversial Nagorno-Karabakh enclave. Even after the 1994 peace agreement, the region was marked by regular fire exchanges. In 2016, there was a four-day war before Russia made peace. The Minsk group of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), chaired by France, Russia and the United States, has been trying for several years to get the two countries to reach a peace agreement. On the content of the agreement, the department stated that it was unable to disclose the details because of a special clause limiting these statements. The agreement calls on the Armenian armed forces to cede control of certain areas they held outside the borders of Nagorno-Karabakh, including the eastern district of Agdam. This area has a strong symbolic weight for Azerbaijan, because its capital, also called Agdam, has been completely looted and the only intact building is the mosque of the city. The agreement also calls for transport links through Armenia, which connects Azerbaijan to its western enclave of Nakhchivan, surrounded by Armenia, Iran and Turkey.

Masses claim that the agreement with Azerbaijan to withdraw is a betrayal after heavy fighting for the disputed Enclave of Armenians will also return the Lachin region, which holds the main road from Nagorno-Karabakh to Armenia.